The Life He Lived

This post was first published as “Memorializing a Friend in ‘The Lives They Lived'” on The Sisterhood blog at The Forward. An excerpt from it was reprinted in The New York Times on January 10, 2013.

myfirstny100329_2_560

I’ve always loved “The Lives They Lived,” the year-end issue of The New York Times Magazine profiling famous and not-so-famous people who made an impact on the world and died during the previous 12 months.

No, let me correct that. I should say that I’ve loved the issue until now.

This difference is not attributable to the design of this year’s issue (though I can undoubtedly say that it is not my favorite). Rather, it’s because reading “The Lives They Lived” is no longer an edifying coda to my year, a comforting annual tradition allowing me to deepen and broaden my knowledge about the influence of individuals on history.

This year, I knew someone personally in the magazine. And that changed everything.

To be sure, many of those profiled in this year’s issue touched my life in some way. Loops of Whitney Houston songs play in my head when I think of my college and grad school years. Neil Armstrong’s moon landing is my first memory of watching TV. I cannot read the name Vidal Sassoon without recalling the scent of the shampoo I used for years. A worn copy of Maurice Sendak’s “In The Night Kitchen” is one of the only books I made sure to save from my childhood and pass on to my kids.

Click here to read more.

© 2013 Renee Ghert-Zand. All rights reserved.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “The Life He Lived”

  1. Nechama Tamler Says:

    Sorry for you loss, Renee.

    nechama

    on 1/2/13 12:21 PM, Truth, Praise and Help at comment-reply@wordpress.com wrote:

    > Renee Ghert-Zand posted: “This post was first published as “Memorializing a > Friend in ‘The Lives They Lived'” on The Sisterhood blog at The Forward. Ive > always loved The Lives They Lived, the year-end issue of The New York Times > Magazine profiling famous and not-so” >

Leave a Reply

