My Modest Bathing Suit

This piece was first published on The Sisterhood blog at the Forward.

t-bathingsuit-070213

And now for a piece on dressing modestly that, at least at first, seems to have nothing to do with disrespect for women and the continuing war on women’s personal and civil rights and freedoms

I just bought my first swim dress. In other words, this summer I’ll be wearing a lovely dark purple bathing suit with an attached skirt that helps hide my tummy and covers the upper part of my legs. Oh, and it has underwire bra cups, too. I figured it was time to take the plunge, because as a 40-something with a widening midsection, I no longer feel comfortable out in public in a regular bathing suit (we’re talking a one-piece—I’ve never dared wear a bikini).

I can’t deny that this whole swim dress thing has something (…a lot) to do with my body image issues. Sometimes I ask myself what my deal is. After all, I often see women much older and much bigger than me lolling on the Tel Aviv beach (where I and my swim dress will be spending some time this summer) in itsy bitsy bikinis. If these women don’t give a you-know-what about letting it all hang out, then why should I? Good for them, right?

Well, no, not good for them. There’s something to be said for a sense of propriety and modesty. Women should not have to wear burqas to the beach (God forbid!), but covering up a bit is an admirable thing, and not only for the sun protection it provides.

Click here to read more and watch a video.

© 2013 Renee Ghert-Zand. All rights reserved.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

