She Who Shall Remain Nameless

Today I had the pleasure (note sarcastic tone) of driving during rush hour through the Haredi (Ultra-Orthodox) neighborhoods of Jerusalem. It was hard enough merely trying to maneuver through harrowing traffic with people just randomly crossing streets without looking, so it would have been nice to at least have  had accurate street signs to help me know where I was going (I have concluded that address numbers on buildings is simply asking too much).

Most Jerusalem road signs (as well as those in other Israeli cities) look like this:

Street signs in Giv'at Hamivtar, a neighborhood in Jerusalem

Well, the street sign for Gold Meir Street, the one I needed to turn onto in order to make my way toward Highway 443 leading out of Jerusalem was non-existent. No, that’s not exactly true. The sign was there – only it was blank. Not just one sign on one corner. The street signs on every corner along Gold Meir Street were blank.

Was it because the Jerusalem municipality was following up on its (much criticized) proposal to change all existing street signs to new ones showing the likeness of the person for whom the street is named and listing key points of their biography? I doubt it. What I surmise is behind these blank street signs is the Haredim’s not agreeing to have the name of a woman (and Zionist prime minister, no less) appear on signs in their neighborhood, and thus taking matters into their own hands. People were worried about having a woman’s picture on street signs in such neighborhoods – but a name?!! As we say in Hebrew – “zeh mugzam” (“that’s going too far”).

Look, I can’t be completely sure about this, but I have a sneaking suspicion that what I have surmised is in fact the case. If any of you Truth, Praise and Help readers out there know anything about this, please comment on this post.

In the meantime, if I want to see a Golda Meir street sign, I am going to have to either look for one in another Israeli city or make a trip to New York.

Golda Meir Square in New York City

© Renee Ghert-Zand. All rights reserved.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a comment